Bio Gallery Image 1
Bio Gallery Image 2
Bio Gallery Image 3
Bio Gallery Image 4
Bio Gallery Image 5
Bio Gallery Image 6

Ian Headshot

Ian Arber is a film and television composer, known for his work on Netflix's "Medici: The Magnificent" (2018), BBC2 comedy-series "Quacks" (2017), "My Name Is Lenny" (2017) starring John Hurt, Usain Bolt documentary "I Am Bolt" (2016) and "Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation" (2015). Ian is an emerging talent in the film music world. With a growing portfolio of work across a variety of genres, Ian is bringing a fresh and unique compositional style to each project...

In 2018, Ian scored new music for series 2 of Netflix's 'Medici: The Magnificent', in addition to Paolo Buonvino's themes from series 1. He also scored 'Sisters of the Wilderness' which won 'Best Feature' at the Durban Film Festival - the score was recorded at Abbey Road Studios in London. Earlier in the year he also scored theatrical-release, coming-of-age drama 'Scott & Sid' and zombie-horror 'Redcon-1', which premiered at the Raindance Film Festival.

In 2017, Ian scored feature-biopic 'My Name is Lenny' starring John Hurt, Chanel Cresswell and Josh Helman, BBC comedy-drama 'Quacks', and co-scored the award-winning documentary 'After the Screaming Stops' with Blur's Dave Rowntree. The latter premiered at the 2018 BFI London Film Festival to rave reviews.

Ian has a rare skill – he is both inventive and creative with a musical knowledge well above the fray. Ian is a pleasure to work with and he's quick. He makes every project significantly better with his contributions

Previous works include feature documentaries for Olympic legends Usain Bolt ('I Am Bolt'), and Sir Mo Farah ('Mo Farah: No Easy Mile'). He collaborated with Hip-Hop legend Nas on the opening titles to 'I Am Bolt', and co-scored 'Mo Farah: No Easy Mile' with Blur drummer Dave Rowntree.

In 2015, Ian assisted Hollywood composer Joe Kraemer on his score for Christopher McQuarrie's 'Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation'. He assisted Joe throughout writing, preparation and recording of the score at Abbey Road Studios in London.

Ian Arber is an excellent composer, a thoroughly professional musician who keeps things organized and lighthearted, even in the most tense of situations. It was my pleasure, and an honor, to have him on the team for Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation

Ian is a classically trained cello and piano player with a reputation for pushing the boundaries by experimenting with these, as well as other rare and exotic instruments. Not only is he known for using his cello for melodic phrases throughout his scores, but also unique, intricate percussive and atmospheric elements.